Liberals take 27 seat majority government in NB

After a night of electoral confusion, Brian Gallant’s Liberal Party won a clear majority in the New Brunswick Legislature.

The Liberal Party now holds 27 seats across the province and the Progressive Conservative Party holds 21. Green Party Leader David Coon won a seat in Fredericton South.

While out-going Premier David Alward kept his seat, he resigned after his Progressive Conservative Party failed to gain another term as ruling party.

The New Brunswick Student Alliance issued a statement after the election drew to a close early Tuesday morning.

“The party made clear commitments to making post-secondary education more accessible, affordable, and high-quality in New Brunswick and we look forward to working with Mr. Gallant and his party to make these commitments a reality,” said Pat Joyce, NBSA Executive Director.

The Liberal Party has promised to eliminate parental and spousal contribution from the assessment of student loans, to keep tuition consistent over a four-year degree and to provide student debt relief for new parents.

The Memramcook-Tantramar riding saw Bernard LeBlanc re-elected with 3,515 votes. LeBlanc was the incumbent MLA for the now defunct pre-amalgamation riding of Memramcook. He defeated the other incumbent for the Tantramar riding, Progressive Conservative Mike Olscamp.

Olscamp received 2,037 votes. Megan Mitton of the Green Party got 1,178 votes, placing her ahead of fourth place candidate Helene Boudreau of the NDP who received 972 votes.

– See more at:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Articles