‘Night of the Mounties’ honours Mt. A’s top athletes

Last Thursday, Mount Allison varsity athletes and staff came together to present awards to the best and brightest in the university. All of the varsity teams were celebrated for their individual and team achievements. The night was hosted by fourth-year soccer player Ellie Henry and fourth-year football player Brandon Maj. Mt. A’s athletic director Pierre Arsenault also spoke, welcoming everyone to the “night of the Mounties.” This night was all a part of Mountie Day, in which the town of Sackville honours Mounties athletics in part with a flag raising ceremony at Town Hall.

Third-year swimmer Allison Loewen won the women’s athlete of the year award and fifth-year football player Te Nguyen took home the male award. Loewen qualified for CIS nationals for the second time along with four AUS medals. Nguyen had 48 tackles, one interception and three tackles for a loss this season. He also finished second in AUS history for total tackles, with 224.5.

Other award winners were fourth-year basketball player Katie Lund and fourth-year football player Andrew Klain, who won the Outstanding Scholar Athlete awards. The Outstanding Senior Male Athlete award went to soccer player Cale Saunders and the women’s award was given to dual-varsity athlete Amanda Volcko. Overall rookies of the year awards were presented to basketball’s Kiersten Mangold and football’s Donovan Glave. The Gigi Hicks and Gilmour awards for sportsmanship went to volleyball’s Kayla Vande Kemp and badminton’s Michael Miller. Managers on the year went to Logan McNeill and Kathryn Hallett of the men’s and women’s soccer team, respectively. The distinguished trainer award to third-year Bhreagh McCumber.

The Bubsy Grant award was presented to Robert Campbell and his wife Christl Verduyn. The award is given to an individual who has made a large impact in the realm of Mounties athletics. The Bill Johnstone Merit award was presented to assistant men’s basketball coach Craig Miller, assistants women’s hockey coach Nick Porter and Times and Transcipt employee Sean Hatchard. This award is presented to individuals who have made a significant contribution to Mounties athletics.

The most valuable players for each team were Bradley Fuller (basketball), Sarah McGeachy (basketball), Saunders (soccer), Amanda Volcko (soccer), Keri Martin (hockey), Sydney Umlah (volleyball), Loewen (swimming), Geraint Berger (swimming), Michael Miller (badminton), Gillian Tetlow (badminton), Te Nguyen (overall football), Kiel Ambursley (offence football) and Devante Sampson (defence football).

Each team awarded a player with their rookie of the year. They were awarded to Madeleine Henry (swimming), William Stewart (swimming), Mangold (basketball), Jeshua Becker (basketball), Elizabeth Baker (badminton), Riley Shewan (badminton), Taryn MacMillan (soccer), Matthys van Staalduinen (badminton), Lauren Wentzell (volleyball), Heather Richards (hockey) and Donovan Glave (football).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Articles